Spectroscopy Since 1975
Metrohm Advertisement

Gordon F. Kirkbright and Edward Steers Bursary Awards, 2020

17 April 2019 | News
by Ian Michael

The ABS Trust is seeking applications for these two awards. The Gordon F. Kirkbright bursary award is a prestigious annual award that assists a promising early career scientist of any nation to attend a recognised scientific meeting or visit a place of learning. The fund for this bursary was established in 1985 as a memorial to Professor Gordon Kirkbright in recognition of his contributions to analytical spectroscopy and to science in general.

Owing to the generosity of one of the former ABS trustees, an eminent atomic spectroscopist, Professor Edward B.M. Steers, they are now, from 2020, able to award an Edward Steers bursary, in addition to the long-standing Gordon Kirkbright bursary, to similarly assist a promising early career scientist engaged in or utilising analytical spectroscopic techniques.

The ABS Trust defines early career as being either a student, or an employee in a non-tenured academic post or in industry, within seven years of award of PhD excluding career breaks. The same conditions apply to each bursary.

Applications are invited for both the 2020 Gordon Kirkbright Bursary and the 2020 Edward Steers Bursary. Although both funds are administered by the ABS Trust, the Kirkbright award is not restricted to spectroscopists, but is open to all involved with or utilising analytical science-based techniques.

Application Forms can be downloaded from: http://www.abstrust.org/kirkbright-bursary-award-application-form and http://www.abstrust.org/steers-bursary-award-application-form or for further information visit http://www.abstrust.org/ or contact [email protected].

The closing date for entries is 30 November 2019.

Rate this Article
No votes yet