FACSS awards


2012 ANACHEM Award

The Association of Analytical Chemists (ANACHEM) organisation and the Federation of Analytical Chemistry and Spectroscopy Societies (FACSS) are pleased to announce that Professor Peter R. Griffiths has been selected as the recipient of the 2012 ANACHEM Award.

Peter Griffiths received his doctorate in physical chemistry at Oxford University and did postdoctoral research at the University of Maryland. He then worked as Product Specialist at Digilab, and was subsequently appointed as Manager of Analytical Services at Sadtler Research Laboratories in Philadelphia (now the Bio-Rad Informatics Division.) He started his academic career at Ohio University where he ultimately achieved the rank of distinguished professor. He then moved to the University of California, Riverside before being appointed chair of the Chemistry Department of the University of Idaho where he is now professor emeritus.

Peter Griffiths has worked in many different aspects of vibrational spectroscopy since 1964. The research in his laboratory has been largely centred on the application of infrared and Raman spectrometry to the solution of problems of analytical, environmental and structural chemistry. Topics on which he has published extensively include various types of infrared reflection spectroscopy, Raman spectroscopy, chemometrics and data processing, developments of instrumentation for infrared spectroscopy (especially FT-IR), hyphenated techniques, open-path atmospheric monitoring and surface-enhanced infrared and Raman spectroscopy. He is the author of over 300 refereed papers and 45 book chapters, and his written or edited 12 books on various aspects of vibrational spectroscopy, including Fourier Transform Infrared Spectrometry (two editions) and the five-volume Handbook of Vibrational Spectroscopy.

He has been very involved in the activities of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy. He was President of the Society in 1994 and was awarded honorary membership of the Society, as well the Distinguished Service Award. He served as Associate Editor of the journal Applied Spectroscopy for almost 20 years and took over as Editor-in-Chief in July 2009. He has won a number of awards including the Coblentz Award, the Spectroscopy Society of Pittsburgh Award, the Birth Award for near infrared spectroscopy, the Bomem–Michelson Award, the Prëgl medal of the Austrian Society of Analytical Chemistry and the Gold Medal of the New York Section of the SAS. He was awarded an Alexander von Humboldt Research Fellowship that enabled him to spend a year at the Technical University of Dresden and, most recently, an Erskine Fellowship to the University of Canterbury, New Zealand. He directs the week-long summer courses on the interpretation and applications of infrared and Raman spectra that held annually at Bowdoin College in Brunswick, ME, USA, and occasionally in Sweden.

The ANACHEM award includes an honorarium, an award certificate, a Plenary lecture at the SCIX meeting and a special session honouring the contributions of the awardee. The Award Plenary lecture will be given at FACSS’s SCIX conference, which in 2012 will be held in Kansas City between 30 September and 4 October. Professor Griffiths’s Plenary lecture is entitled “The impact of chemometrics on open-path FT-IR atmospheric monitoring”. The plenary lecture will be followed by a forward-looking session on vibrational spectroscopy including the following speakers and topics.

Dr Curt Marcott

What may be the next advances in mid-infrared spectrometry?

Dr Carol Hirschmugl

What may be the next advances in mid-infrared microspectrometry?

Professor Max Diem

What may be the next advances in biomedical mid-infrared spectrometry?

Professor Boris Mizaikoff

Will tunable lasers have an impact on mid-infrared spectrometry in the next ten years?

Dr Ian R. Lewis

What may be the next advances in Raman spectrometry?

Professor Mike Blades

What may be the next advances in biomedical Raman spectrometry?

The ANACHEM Award was established in 1953 and is presented annually to an outstanding analytical chemist based on activities in teaching, research, administration or other activity which has advanced the art and science of the field. The Award was presented as a part of the ANACHEM Conference through 1972. After 1972, the ANACHEM Award has been presented at the North American meeting presented by FACSS.

2012 Charles Mann Award

FACSS has also announced that Dr Don Pivonka has been selected as the recipient of the 2012 Charles Mann Award. The Charles Mann Award is presented to an individual who has demonstrated advancement(s) presented at FACSS in the field of applied Raman Spectroscopy and/or demonstrated dedication to the advancement of the FACSS Raman spectroscopy programme and/or the ASTM Raman subcommittee.

Don Pivonka received his PhD. in analytical chemistry from Kansas State University, USA, under the direction of Dr Robert C. Fry. While at Kansas State, Don received several research awards including the Phillips Petroleum Fellowship Award as the outstanding researcher in the graduate chemistry program. Don was the inaugural recipient of the Tomas Hirschfeld award presented at the 1987 Pittsburgh Conference. In his professional career, Don spent five years at Hercules, Inc. (1987–1992) where he used vibrational spectroscopy to further the understanding of polymer processes and performance. In 1992, Don joined Imperial Chemical Industries (ICI) and through a series of mergers, Don’s role transitioned from ICI to Zeneca (1993) and finally to AstraZeneca (2000). Don’s research focus accordingly shifted from speciality chemicals to pharmaceutical research. Within pharmaceutical discovery, he has been a leader in application of infrared and Raman spectroscopy as it applies to the understanding of solid phase reaction mechanisms and kinetics of solid phase combinatorial synthesis. He has also championed novel applications of Raman spectroscopy for understanding relationships between the electronic properties of drug candidates and their ligand/receptor interaction in biological systems. This work has resulted in the discovery of various novel drug candidate molecules across a diverse range of central nervous system receptor targets. In 2011, Don joined Incyte Pharmaceuticals as a senior principal chemist working in the Chemistry, Manufacturing and Control (CMC) division. Don holds numerous publications and book chapters pertaining to applications of Raman spectroscopy in pharmaceutical research. He has presented numerous invited/plenary lectures worldwide, and was co-editor of the J. Wiley & Sons book titled Applications of Vibrational Spectroscopy in Pharmaceutical Research and Development.

The Charles Mann award for Applied Raman spectroscopy was instituted in 2002 by FACSS following the untimely death of Professor Charles (Charlie) Mann. Professor Mann was a well-known and long-standing member of the faculty of Florida State University (FSU). Professor Mann and his faculty colleague, Professor Tom Vickers, contributed significantly to the development of analytical Raman spectroscopy via publications, participation at numerous meetings including FACSS, and participation in the ASTM sub-committee on Raman spectroscopy E13.08. Professor Mann’s research areas covered from the fundamental including data analysis (chemometrics and databases), quantitative Raman, and instrumental understanding to the applied, polymers, inorganics etc.

The award includes an honorarium, an engraved plate, a Plenary lecture at the SCIX meeting, and a special session honouring the contributions of the awardee. The Award Plenary lecture will be given at FACSS’s SCIX conference in 2012 and will be followed by a presentation at the traditional Tuesday evening Raman reception.

User Rating: / 1